Ampeg SVT-CL troubleshooting

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by hotlavaman, Oct 14, 2020.

1. hotlavaman

hotlavaman

Dec 15, 2019
    Washington
    Bought a barely used svt-cl in late 2018 and had no problems with it until earlier this year. First, once when I was playing the volume suddenly drops significantly and most of the lows cut out. The sound could best be described as weak and distant with some fuzz/hissing. No squealing or popping however, and turning the volume up or down did nothing. About three months later I plug in the amp, it turns on but no sound whatsoever this time. I've replaced the fuse, but still no sound, so it seems a blown fuse wasn't the issue. In the three month interim it sat untouched except for a 1000 mile road trip that was definitely bumpy at times, but the amp was very well secured and encased in about a foot of padding all-around. Prior to these issues it was working perfectly.

Anybody out there have any ideas? I am no expert on amps so am basically at a loss at this point. I'm on a budget and live a good distance from anyone who could potentially repair it so I would prefer to do it myself if possible. Any input is much appreciated.

2. rickdog

rickdog Gold Supporting Member

Mar 27, 2010
    Look for simple, everyday problems first. The first issue that comes to my mind is the poweramp in jack on the back panel. That jack has a switch in it to disconnect the preamp when you are slaving it to another head. It's not uncommon for that switch to develop some corrosion (especially if the amp is unused for a while) and cause the exact symptoms you describe.

Connect an ordinary guitar cable or pedalboard patch cable from preamp out to preamp in and see if that helps.

Beyond that - if you're not an "expert on amps" it might be time to find yourself a good tech. The SVT has voltages inside that can definitely kill you quickly.

JB1962 and bobyoung53 like this.