Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ampeg SVT CL with SWR´s Henry the 8x8" ?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by grooVWy, Nov 4, 2005.

1. grooVWy

grooVWy

Apr 9, 2005
    spectacular
    I have SWR´s Henry the 8x8" cab. RMS 480W 4 Ohms.
    I´ve been wondering would that Ampegs CL head (300 tube Watts 2 or 4 Ohms) work with it or would it blow the speakers to nearest hill.
    What do you guys think ?
    Anyone around here that owns CL ?

I really enjoy this cab and wouldn´t wan´t to loose it,
    but I also want that tube sound.

.v

2. DerekP

DerekP

Jul 24, 2005
    Toronto, On
    i'm no expert but the swr 8x8 isnt exactly a low end monster, so watch your lows and your volume and you should be fine..sound wise i have no idea if that will be a good match.

3. chaosMK

chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    It will probably blow them to the next hill if you want the meaty kind of tone youd get from an ampeg 8x10. If you want an incredibly punchy tone, then that is the way to go. Just add a Big Bertha 2x15 to it.

4. BassIan

BassIan Supporting Member

Apr 27, 2003
    Cupertino, California
    I beg to differ. I've heard and played through some Henries, and they are a very big, deep sounding cabinet. You must keep in mind that an 8x8 is not to be compare to an average 8x10. It's a lower-powered cabinet with smaller drivers! However, for *that* sound, some of the more original SWR sound still available, nothing beats it.

5. pickles

pickles Supporting Member

Mar 23, 2000
    Ventura, CA

+1!

What a henry is NOT is a "modern" sounding cab with lots of highs. Its got a big, fat tone that cuts through on stage really well. I did a gig on one with an SWR Bass 350 and it was kickin! My 4x10 with an SM-400S really suffered by comparison.