Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ampeg SVT- Pro4

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Roger Heroux, Oct 1, 2000.

1. Well I must say I'm disappointed about one thing with this Pro4. There is no ground lift switch for the amp or DI.It is my first time using a monster amp. The tones are awesome! Very very clean. My Carvin LB75 was just a singin.But wouldn't you know,the lighting tech had all the music stand light on a dimmer. The second my fingers were off the fret board.Buss,buss,buss

2. If you need a ground lift switch, you've got a bigger electrical problem. I use mine in a church with dimmer switches and have no buzz or hiss at all. If you have a passive bass, the problem will be worse from outside interference. Get a good ground where you play and get the board on the same ground.

SB

3. Doug

Doug

Apr 5, 2000
    Buffalo, N.Y.
    What Scott said. I used to own one of these and never had a problem with outside interference or grounding. If you really want to get some good tones out of that I can recommend some good preamp tubes.

4. Doug...

I just found yesterday that if you cut the 800-900hz range out completely, you get a nice SWRish tone with solid bass and highs. I used to boost in this area in accordance with some advice I received that this area would clean up the pitch of the note. I say much better without it!

SB

5. Doug

Doug

Apr 5, 2000
    Buffalo, N.Y.
    Yeah, you can get a good number of different tones from it. I'm not a fan of the clean sound for the type of music I play. I prefer a grindier tone. Glad you find what your'e looking for.