Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ampeg SVT4 Pro Vs. Mesa Basis M2000

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Ryan L., Sep 4, 2004.

1. Ryan L.

Ryan L. Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND
    Ok, I know these "this vs. that" threads can get to be a bit much, but since I won't get a chance to A/B these heads together, I am looking for a little input for those of you who have played both or had some sort of experience with both.

I have been playing through an SVT4 Pro for about 3-4 years now, and I am just looking for something different. I thought about getting another SWR SM900, but when I had one before my Ampeg, I always thought it was a bit sterile sounding--not a bad thing in some applications mind you, and maybe with more tweaking it wouldn't worked for me. I have also been considering Eden, but it's been so long since I tried one of their heads, I don't even remember why I didn't buy one (musta been a reason, though ;) ).

So, that leaves me thinking about a Mesa M2000. One of my main questions is about the tones--can they do both the grittier Ampeg type sound, and also the more hi-fi SWRish sound?? And are they fairly reliable (I know, I know, anything can break down.) I just want to know if they have a history of problems. Any other info I can get on these would be great, especially from people who have owned/own them.

Thanks
    Ryan

2. Ryan L.

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND
  3. Ozzyman

Ozzyman

Jul 21, 2004
    How much are you selling your SVT4 for?

4. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange Commercial User

Dec 25, 2002
    New Orleans, LA
    Owner / Tech: Strange Guitarworks
    I would hesitate to say that the M2000 is a hi-fi sounding head. It's pretty aggressive, and kind of thick sounding. It's definitely not an SWR.

5. Ryan L.

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND