1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ampeg SVT410HLF

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by origami, May 1, 2010.

1. origami

origami

Jun 26, 2005
    Big D TEXAS
    Hi,

Cue the soap opera music for my long lasting on again-off again love/hate affair with Ampeg. “Like sand through the hourglass…”

First off… I am admittedly weak willed, and even though I know some Ampeg gear sounds great and some just does not, I'm a sucker for that classic "A" in the upper corner of my cabs. Many of us are.

I've been down this road before... and in a fit of wanting a more classic looking rig, and needing some immediate cash, I sold my two wonderful sounding GK neo 2x12 cabs. The cabs always sounded really awesome, but those metal looking grills always really bothered me, and I am not handy enough to make replacement ampeg looking grills, etc.

I started playing my tried and trusty GK 800rb (best solid state head ever!) through a single US made SVT 15en that I found used, which wasn't sounding too bad for a stand alone 15" cab. This is my third time coming back to this cab.

It is what it is... a 15" cab w/no tweeter, but (third times a charm) I blew a speaker in the 15en cab the night before a gig. I borrowed a 15” speaker from a friend’s Fender bass combo, and limped through the show with a blanketed quirky tone. It was against all driver replacement logic, that was definitely proof that drivers and cabs need to sort of match. I'm sure the TB physics guys are saying "told you so".