1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ampeg SVX for Live

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by silvertones, May 7, 2010.

1. silvertones

silvertones

Apr 19, 2010
    I've been playing bass for 46 years. I've had all the vintage stuff when it was new. I want to do something different. I want to use a small netbook with the SVX as the pre with a nice clean power amp. The question is for a speaker cabinet.
    Anyone doing a setup like this as your main rig? The box needs to be a real good full range with very flat response as the SVX is doing all of the tone shaping. Not to big either. The first box that comes to mind is a Carvin 1503 or something similar. Of course a nice 3 way EAW would be nice but$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    fearful, bill fitzmaurice, accugroove, audio kinesis, mayer (if you have $10,000 to spend on it ;) )...some folks like to mod the ls1503 with the eminence 3015lf to make it more bass friendly, but by that point you might as well just get one built the way you want it.

btw, i don't use svx live but i do use a tech 21 vt pedal, and it sounds equally great in both hi-fi style bass cabs and traditional bass cabs.

3. seamonkey

seamonkey

Aug 6, 2004
    Google "DPC Latency checker"
    Carry this on a thumb drive and run it on netbooks you're considering.
    Netbooks are limited on purpose by Microsoft to not handle much memory an use a crippled version of Windows.
    Jump up to a standard laptop - good ones are not much more than netbook. the Latency checker will show much better performance.

I would actually say skip the Laptop and look for a small book size computer. It will have better performance. It will boot faster than most keyboards or tube amps. And it will take standard memory and disk drives.