Ampeg-yep, I'm still pissed!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Davidoc, Apr 25, 2005.

1. I just took my bass out for the first time in a while, and I was just reminded about how upset I am at the performance of my Ampeg SVP-Pro. I'm a college student without much money, but I need a new preamp if I'm going to start playing bass again.

I have an SVP, and it #1: sounds great, #2: emits a huge ammount of static noise (don't even think about trying to record with it, or staying sane sitting anywhere near the amp when it's on.) and #3: stops working properly periodically, and just emits an extremely weak, crackling signal. For some really weird reason, adjusting the tension of the screws on the rackmount makes this come and go away. I know, it makes no sense, but I am not making this up.

I've replaced every tube, and taken it to the shop (they said it was one of the tubes and they replaced it, but it still suffers from these 2 problems.
  2. metalguy2

Dec 26, 2004
    That happens to me on my Gallien head. I think I have heard the answer lies in the input jack.. But it hasn't happened to my head in a while so I haven't gotten a chance to get it fixed. I know someone here on this forum knows what it is.
  3. Selta

Feb 6, 2002
    Pacific Northwet
    Total fanboi of: Fractal Audio, AudiKinesis Cabs, Dingwall basses
    Almost sounds like you have a bad ground, to say the least. But what I would do if I were you is take it back to your tech and tell them they didn't fix it, and you want it fixed, AND since you already paid the bench fee that you want it waived etc. etc. Good luck though,

4. Thanks for the info! :) It might be the input jack for the weak/crackily issue; that's not unreasonable at all. I actually didn't pay anything for the tech, as it was under warranty. (One thing about Ampeg: They have a truly great warranty; it's 5 years transferrable.) I think when I go home for the summer I wil give this another go, assuming I can find the receipt.