Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Amplification Distress - Seeking Advice Quickly

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MWBass, Jun 19, 2005.

1. Eden WT-800B with 2 Eden 210XST's

6 vote(s)
    21.4%
  2. EBS TD-650 with an EBS 410 and possibly 212

3 vote(s)
    10.7%
  3. Epifani UL902 Head with a 410UL or 610UL cab

12 vote(s)
    42.9%
  4. Anything else that would remedy this situation

7 vote(s)
    25.0%
  1. MWBass

MWBass

Jun 19, 2005
    New Brunswick
    Hey everybody, my name is Marc. I am a bass player based out of New Brunswick, New Jersey. I have been searching for the ultimate rig to play through and I am nearing my breaking point. As backround, I am 25 years old, and I started playing bass when I was 22; I was athlete through all of my high school and college days. In my three years experience I have learned that I am a very percussive player, slapping and tapping 80 percent of the time. I like playing fast. Lot of victor wooten meets les claypool for a meeting of the minds type stuff. I have written a few solo songs that very much resemble work like Vic Wooten's song "A Show of
    Hands". I obviously cannot play up to his speed and caliber, but that is where my head is at. I am currently playing through a Fodera Monarch VW Classic 4 string.

Now for background on what I have owned. Bare in mind that I am a high school Calculus teacher and I stiull live in a cheap college house with some friends, so I have had a lot of money at my expense that I have spend foolishly on many rigs that I have returned. I will list the gear in the order that I owned it and Why I stopped playing it:
    1.) SWR Workingman's head and Peavey 115 - This was the first setup I had and it served me fine, but I had no idea what I was doing back then.