Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Amplification for a poor college student

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Malcom, Oct 21, 2002.

1. Malcom

Malcom

Oct 21, 2002
    The Midwest
    I started playing upright bass the summer before my senior year of high school, after high school I sort of put serious upright practicing on the rocks. Recently I've begun to Jam on DB with a guy. I've decided to get a decent pickup/preamp. I have a woodpicker stick on pu which I place near the bass foot of the bridge. This sounds very ok, but if I turn the soundboard of even slightly toward my speaker cab (I'm using a SWR SM-400s with a Hartke 4X10) I get a sort of feedback effect (not an uncontrollable howl, sort of a sustained frequency).

I'm looking to play this bass in a sort of alterna-rock format, I will not be slapping much. What would be the best low-cost preamp and/or pickup purchase I could make in order to get a decent upright sound?

My budget requires I try to stay under $300, and I cannot afford anything $500-ish.

2. lermgalieu

lermgalieu Supporting Member

Apr 27, 2000
    Palo Alto, CA
    K&K is well within your price range and recommended by several people in these parts, although I am sure there are some other good ones worth considering. For more about K&K, you can search on it here, and pricing is available at http://www.gollihur.com. And no, I don't work for them!

3. Bob Gollihur

Bob Gollihur GollihurMusic.com

Mar 22, 2000
    New Joisey Shore
    Big Cheese Emeritus: Gollihur Music
    I see that someone suggested you check my site for an alternate pickup, and I appreciate the mention.