Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Amplifier basics

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by checkmate, Sep 20, 2003.

1. checkmate

checkmate

Sep 20, 2003
    Hello everyone! I'm new to the forum and just wanted to ask a question about amplifier ratings. I see ratings such as 500 watts @ 4 ohms, 400 watts @ 8 ohms, etc... and I was wondering what exactly this means? And how does different speaker configurations determine this rating? I'm new to these things too, so nothing too technical please. Thanks for your help.

2. kirbywrx

kirbywrx formerly James Hetfield

Jul 27, 2000
    Melbourne, Australia.
    ohms means resistance.

Thats all i know. I know nothing when it comes to resistance of amps ect. But stay tuned, someone will help us soon :D

3. miccheck1516

miccheck1516 Guest

Feb 15, 2003
    Ireland
    two 8ohm cabs give a resistance of 4 ohms
    two 4 ohm cabs give a resistance of 2 ohms
    There is a little more to it than that, but that gets me by

4. Mcrelly

Mcrelly

Jun 16, 2003
    Minnesota, USA
    check out this link from a local electronics wizard... http://www.talkbass.com/ampfaq/

The lower the ohms the less "resistance" the amp has in front of it when trying to make 'sound'. less resistance means the 'watts' of the amp will increase.

your example I assume is from one amp? I don't know if the same 400w into 8 is actually quieter than the 500w into 4ohms, but if there are more speakers involved to lower the ohms to 4ohms then it probably will sound louder with same amp. also some will say that 4ohms infront of the amp will sound more 'punchy' and quick I suppose this is true, but I've not experimented.

500w into 4ohms is adequate for most situations and so is 400w into 8ohms IMHO.

5. wneff

wneff Supporting Member

May 27, 2003
    Woburn, MA
    Hi,

The ratings and the Ohms are relatively simple.