1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Amplifiers and Cabinets: What is going on here?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Soreinsun, Oct 22, 2010.

1. Soreinsun

Soreinsun

Oct 22, 2010
    Okay, I'll be brief. I've been playing for... 8 years and I'm still learning about what works and doesn't work concerning amplification. I would really appreciate all thoughts concerning this new issue I'm having.

Recently I purchased a Markbass New York 121 cabnet as a light weight alternative to accompany my Carvin BX500. (The combination sounds amazing, by the way! Dumb Luck.)

Here's the ONLY issue. The Amp produces 300 Watts at 8 ohms. The Cab TAKES 400 watts at 8 ohms. Perfect combo right? Maybe not... I've noticed that with level eq, no drive or contour, and the compressor at 10 o'clock the combination sounds amazing and produces a hefty amount of volume (very clean). As I dial the volume to around "6" or beyond, the tweeter distorts occasionally (sounds like a chirp or a rattle; like a metal tool box in the back of a pick-up). Well the good news is I can turn off the tweeter, but I also notice that slightly higher volume levels than that and the 12 inch speaker begins to ever so slightly distort on attack (I'm assuming due to peaks).

Here is what I know:
    1) Peaks are causing the problems from playing too hard... of course this isn't the problem as the volume reaches "10"... it's just standard.
    2) The compressor helps limit the peak volume... of course I don't want to squash my beautiful tone too much if I don't have to.
    3) Tweeters are easily distorted if the amp is clipping... and the amp might very well be clipping.
    4) Amp clipping is pretty serious if prolonged, and something I want to avoid all together.

Here are a few questions: