Amps and cabs

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Yrag, Jun 17, 2022.

1. Yrag

Yrag

Jan 19, 2019
    Hi all. I’m new to the world of Amp heads and cab combos. I want something small and transportable as I’m giging again now after many years off.
    I like the TC electronic bc208 cab and I’ve found two second hand for quite a good deal just local to me. Now they are 200w each. Do I need a 400w head to supply the correct amount of power?
    Please excuse my ignorance. When I was giging back in my youth I got whatever I could afford and at the time and it was a combo fender rumble 100(birthday present), Then onto a 300w valve marshal with two cabs but this was second hand and I bought it all together without really understanding it or the watt range etc.
    I like the look of the Eden head terra nova. Or the bugera veyron. Also the TC electronic bam 200w. My budget isn’t huge.
    So confused of what I could get away with. I really Look forward to some suggestions from the experts. :)
    thanks.

2. In general, I think it's commonly recommended to have the same or lower powered head than your cab's/cabs' total power handling. So in the case of the two BC208s, yes, 400w or less is generally acceptable.

Do you also understand Ohms and how that interaction between amps and cabs work? Not trying to be a jerk, just wanting to make sure you are taking that into account as well. :)

Also: I regularly disregard this "common wisdom" and take massively overpowered amps (now that 800w Class D amps can be small and weigh about 6lbs!) along with a tiny 300w cab for jams/practice. Being wise and careful with volume knobs and low EQ boost is very important here, but as long as you are realistic and paying attention to what's going on with your speaker cab it will all be fine.

Last edited: Jun 17, 2022
    Aqualung60 and spatters like this.
  3. Yrag

Yrag

Jan 19, 2019