1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Amputated fingers

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Amputee Hiker, Mar 28, 2013.

1. Amputee Hiker

Amputee Hiker

Mar 28, 2013
    Hey guys/gals?

I am new to Bass playing. Very new. I have a questions or concern. I was born with only three fully formed (useful) fingers on my fretting hand. My index finger, thumb, and pinky. Is competent playing possible with this situation? A friend of mine had this Rocksmith game for his pc and I fell in love with how they presented the bass on there. Its real playing, with some techniques left out, not some button mashing color matching game. Anyways, any advice would be great!
    Thank you

Chris

2. Hamlet7768

Hamlet7768 Here to chew gum and rock. Still have gum.

Jun 5, 2011
    Listen to Django Reinhardt. That's all.

3. Roy Vogt

Roy Vogt Supporting Member

Sep 20, 2000
    Nashville,TN
    Endorsing Artist: Kiesel, Carvin, Accuracy, Hotwire, Conklin Basses, DNA, Eden
    Check out Django Reinhardt-he played amazing Jazz Guitar with only 2 functioning fingers. Also check out Bill Clement:

I have a student who only has a rudimentary thumb and one finger on his picking hand. He's been studying for about 8 months and at his last lesson he was playing a blues groove at quarter note=144 bpm so it can be done. If you need to, turn the bass upside down and play it left handed. Nothing's impossible!

4. NickTej22

NickTej22

Feb 17, 2013
    Largo FL
    A lot of playing is usually done with the thumb on the back of the neck, and usually your pointer and middle, using your pinky for teaching harder frets. I don't see any reason you couldn't develop your own technique at all.

5. mbeall

mbeall

Jun 25, 2003
  6. mbeall

mbeall

Jun 25, 2003
    3 Django posts in 2 mins. :)