An age old question

Discussion in 'Rockabilly [DB]' started by Slaps McGoo, Mar 23, 2008.

1. Slaps McGoo

Slaps McGoo

Mar 23, 2008
    Montreal
    This is going to be long winded, a forewarning!

The question that everyone dreads asking for fear of being looked down on most times, but I've been reading this forums for some time and get a good vibe. I'm a beginner, in the market for a double-bass, I've been doing a lot of research and have got a couple opinions from local players I respect. I've looked at a Carlo Robelli (300&200) which a very talented slapper plays here, he just reccomended a quick trip to the luthier for it. I've also been contemplating an Engelhardt EM1 but I'm not 100% on that because of the lack an ebony fingerboard. The Swingmaster and Supreme are pushing the very limits of my budget and are probably actually outside. I have looked around locally for a used bass, only luck I have had thus far is a 1500$ unknown american or czec bass, great action on it, but I'm iffy about it for some unkown reason, and when buying one I want to feel 100% sure I've made the right choice. Come Tuesday (it being Easter weekend) I'll be calling both McGill and Concordia Universities here in Montreal to see what they might be able to offer me in terms of used student DB's.

www.myspace.com/hellboundhepcats (The bassist from this band reccomended the Carlo Robelli to me)

A quick note to end
    Carlo Robelli 300 --> D’Addario Helicore bass strings (a $150 Value), Rubner German Tuning Machines, Ebony fingerboard, adjustable bridge, excellent horsehair bow and matching bag case (from the site) = 1000$ I believe this is the bass that the guy i know plays, and he can slap the [I can't control my vocabulary] out of it.