Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

An existential dilemma

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Alvaro Martín Gómez A., Jun 20, 2005.

1. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

Alvaro Martín Gómez A. TalkBass' resident Bongo + cowbell player

Hi everybody.

This thread is about something that I've been thinking for a long time and I don't know what to do about it. Hope you friendly talkbassers give me an honest opinion. Here's the scenario:

The city in which I live isn't a good place for music as a profession. Music isn't a part of life here. The only musical shows that really pack venues here are about styles that I really hate, most noticeable the one called vallenato. In spite of that, I was really lucky because after I graduated from the university, I was asked to work there as a teacher, and then the other university that offers a music program also called me. So right now I work as a teacher in two universities. Besides, I'm the musical director of the tropical music band in which I play, I also play double bass in the only symphonic orchestra and in general, I'm very recognized in my town among musicians. The thing is that I live in good conditions, but that's not because I'm well paid, but because of my current workload. I say I'm lucky because the unemployment rate here is very high and most of my classmates, for instance, are in a very difficult situation, which fortunately isn't my case.