An idea of mine.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Markdezy, Jan 30, 2004.

Would you buy one?

Poll closed Feb 14, 2004.
  1. Yes.

9 vote(s)
  2. No.

9 vote(s)
  1. Markdezy

Jan 24, 2004
    Ok, I've been drawing basses lately, and I was wondering if this was a good idea.

So, I start a business that makes basses. Here's the catch, We'll make ANY design of bass for you, custom. So you would send in a drawing or come to the shop and sketch out a bass together, and I would make it. Any number of strings. Any kind of wood. You know, sky's the limit. That sorda stuff.

So Vote now!

Keep in mind that the basses would be high quality and would be not priced insanely.
  2. Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Are you an experienced luthier?
  3. Markdezy

Jan 24, 2004
    As I said in the first post, I am not actually doing this now (im only 16). Just your opinion on the idea.

But for fun's sake, yes...I am a great luthier.
  4. brake

Jun 23, 2003
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    There's already a place like that semi-locally. good idea, tho..
  5. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    Well, several luthiers already offer this option, like Dave Pushic and Stambaugh-even Wishnevsky to some degree. The results are usually very mixed, depending on the luthier's execution of the design and the bassist's ability to create a functional design.
  6. Markdezy

Jan 24, 2004
    Hmm. Although I'm only 16 now, I'm going to see if this works over the summer (i think) and build one of the ones that I have been sketching.

I hope it turns out well.
  7. mslatter

Apr 8, 2003
    I'd build several basses for yourself before considering building them for others. The last thing you want to do is to charge people for inferior or incomplete product. Remember, when I was sixteen and had a business problem, I didn't take the guy to court; I took him out in the alley.