Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

an interesting article on speaker size

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Cornbread, Feb 6, 2001.

1. Cornbread

Cornbread

Jun 20, 2000
    Lawrence, Ma
    I found this article by Glenn Letsch, BassPlayer Magazine contributer. http://www.glennletsch.com/speakers.html
    His main point is that 10's are the way to go. What do you technical folks have to say about his ideas?

2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

I'm not a techie, but I have a cab in which 2 of the 4 speakers are 8"s and, in alignment with what Letsch said, they do a pretty nice job. I wonder how about 16 of them would sound?

3. mikemulcahy

mikemulcahy

Jun 13, 2000
    The Abyss
    Nor am I Rickbass, and there were some interesting points, however, I dont really agree. I have tried almost every combination possible i think (8,10, 12, 18...). The rig i have right now has everything i need and want, I wouldnt change anything on it. To my recolection, I believe it was stated here before that the 10's could not reproduce the lower frequencies 40hz or the like, only the harmonic of that frequency.

Maybe the more learned members can enlighten us on this.

Mike

4. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    I agree with some of what Glenn says. In general, huge fat thumpy bass sound is BAD NEWS on stage. Tight, articulated sound is the way to go if you want to hear your notes. The louder you get, the less really low stuff you wnat in your signal.