Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

An observation

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by cafepurgatory, May 20, 2001.

1. I just wanted to say that I'm new to Talk Bass (and to bassing) and I've been browsing through some of the threads here. As I was reading it struck me that I've never actually seen this kind of attitude toward other players. I came up as a very mediocre drummer playing in garage bands back home and around there good bassists are very hard to find. And they know it. So they all generally had very bad attitudes and treated beginners, or even experienced players looking for advice like garbage.

The long and short of it is, I'm glad to see the helpful attitude around here and I respect it. It's a very welcome sight since I know I'll have a few hundred questions to ask on the road to getting where I want to be with the Bass.

Later
    -Cafe Purgatory

2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

Welcome cafe!

I think the attitudes just reflect general society. There are jerks and there are really fine people here. And the jerks are the exceptions, fortunately. And if you keep focus on the positive majority, you'll like posting here.

So ask away when a need arises....and if this thread gets moved to a more appropriate forum by a moderator, they're not being a jerk, just doing a good job.

3. yawnsie

yawnsie

Apr 11, 2000
    London
    Glad to see you feel that way Cafe, and welcome!

4. Welcome to TB Cafe, have fun. :)

5. anon5458975

anon5458975

Apr 5, 2001
    Right on Cafe!

I haven't been here very long myself, didn't take much time at all to see this is a very special place.

Welcome Aboard.

6. snyderz

snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    Ditto
    Doc