Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Andy Rourke - The Queen is Dead

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by gustat, May 1, 2000.

1. gustat

gustat

Apr 11, 2000
    If you have never heard the album, you won't know to what I am referring.
    His creativity explodes from every track -
    He is quite a gifted fellow, even though he was dealing with addiction while recording that album.

I am surprised more people don't mention him...

other Andy Highlights, not on TQID:
    This Charming Man
    Rusholme Ruffians

2. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    California
    Hey, Gus. Andy was one of my first electric bass influences when I started playing years ago. Not coincidentally, The Queen is Dead was the first Smiths LP I ever bough. It is a masterpiece, but to get a better glimpse at Andy's style, I'd steer people towards the collections "Hatful of Hollow" and "The World Wont Listen" Better yet, The Smiths' double album compilation "Louder than Bombs", which is also brilliant.

Will C. [​IMG]

------------------
    You can't hold no groove if you ain't got no pocket!

3. Joseph M

Joseph M

May 26, 2000
    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by gustat:
    If you have never heard the album, you won't know to what I am referring.
    His creativity explodes from every track -
    He is quite a gifted fellow, even though he was dealing with addiction while recording that album.

I am surprised more people don't mention him...

other Andy Highlights, not on TQID:
    This Charming Man
    Rusholme Ruffians
    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Let's not forget "Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now" !!!

Joseph M

------------------
    Jason and the Argonauts
    j-a-t-a@home.com

4. djam

djam

Jun 22, 2000