(Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by The Mole, Sep 27, 2002.

1. I'm currently learning this bass solo, I'm doing pretty well... I can play up until where the drums enter with no problem (not bad for some1 who has been playing for 4 months, self-taught? :D )
    Anyway, how do I tackle the next bit cos it sounds so hard to play properly. Is it achieved by quick hammer-on's and pull off's, and there any other techniques I need to know.
    I play the song without a plectrum, Cliff Burton didn't... right?

Thanks for any tips! :D
  2. I can say with 100% certainty that Cliff Burton NEVER ONCE USED A PICK IN ANY OF THE ALBUMS HE WAS ALIVE FOR (sniff...)

Anyways, good job, that sounds pretty good for getting that far in 4 months. Keep it going!!!

(I haven't touched my bass in 4 weeks....If anyone wants to pull a Bin Laden on Cornell University in Ithaca, NY, as long as no ones dies, BE MY GUEST) :mad:
  3. All I have to say to you mole is, DAMN YOU! I've been playing for over a year now and I can barely play a song let alone one of the greatest metal bass solo's of all time.

And I want to be in band?:(

It's stuff like this that make me want to quit...fortunately I love music too much to do so.

Then again, I play with a "pick" or plectrum as you like to call it.

Do you have any prior instrument experience?
  4. That's not a reason to quit Panther, it can take a long time to learn something new. Les Claypool was crap when he first picked up bass, but look where he is now... it will be worth it in the end!

Yes I do have previous musical experience, I started playing clarinet when I was about 10, then went on to alto sax when I was about 13 and I still play it... I'm 17 now. Even though these instruments are completely different to bass guitar I think they helped with my finger technique and sense of rhythm, as well as other things.