Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

annoying kids

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by Mixmasta J, Jul 9, 2005.

1. Mixmasta J

Mixmasta J

Dec 4, 2004
    So I've been playing bass for about 1 or 2 years now and I'm getting pretty good. But I'm no wooten by any means. So I'm playing some simple slap lines in front of these non-musicians and everyone likes it. Next day at school, I am the best bassist in the whole school, and all these kids are challenging me to bass offs! (dont know what the heck that would be :meh: )Anyways, I really don't care for this much because my skill is being blown out of proportion, and everyone wants to show me up. Has this happened to anyone? what do you do?

:scowl: its really quite sad....

2. abngourmet

abngourmet Gold Supporting Member

Nov 11, 2004
    USA
    If I've learned anything in my 28 plus years of playing the instrument, it's that there is always someone better (technically, that is) than you. It's not about better, faster, etc. It's about playing the right line at the right time. I know guys who can out pop, out slap, out tap me. Who cares? What's important is what's useful in the real world. I mean, it's great if you can tap like Billy Sheehan, do chords like Stanley and Victor, and solo like Jaco. But if it doesn't fit what you're doing in the group you're with, it's completely irrelevant.

Now, should one aspire to attain those skills if possible? Sure. But they're only another tool in the arsenal, not the be all end all itself. Like any good craftsman, a bassist should pull the tool required for the job at hand out of the toolbox when needed. Being flashy, or "better" than someone else might be impressive, but it might also be useless in the context of the music being played.