Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Another bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by villakid 93, Mar 6, 2006.

1. villakid 93

villakid 93 Guest

Dec 27, 2005
    Swayfield, Grantham
    I have had my bass since 25th December, when is the time when you should buy a newer better one as mine is a starter at the moment.:smug:

2. permagrin

permagrin

May 1, 2003
    San Pedro, CA
    When the urge and the opportunity coincide.

3. ...which for me is not nearly often enough! :crying:

4. For me, it was when I started playing gigs and felt I should have an upgraded main bass along with a backup.

I suppose the answer is whenever you want one and can afford or justify one.

5. The time is when you need one to progress to the "next level." If, for example, you want a black one rather than the white one you have only because of the color, it probably isn't time.

6. RyansDad

RyansDad

Jan 31, 2006
    Tolland, CT
    +1.

My rule of thumb is to buy a new one when the need comes up before I see something I like (i.e. I got into an industrial rock band, so I decided I needed a 5-er). This avoids you having the following as your reason to purchase a new bass: "This one is really cool!"

FYI: Spouses don't like that answer much. :rollno:

7. bassthumpa

bassthumpa

Aug 31, 2004
    Austin, TX
    It completely depends on you. I bought my Kingston a year ago, and while I haven't made a whole lot of progress because things were just incredibly busy, I know that I'm committed to my bass. Between that, time becoming available, and having the cash available, I pulled the trigger on a Roscoe.

Some may prefer to wait until their skill reaches a certain level. Others prefer to wait until they start doing gigs. Some just buy gear because they can.

Consider your own situation, financially and otherwise, and do what fits your needs.

8. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000