Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

another bridge question

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by oliebrice, Apr 14, 2003.

1. oliebrice

oliebrice

Apr 7, 2003
    London, UK
    hello,
    a pretty basic question, but I'm new to the DB.
    I need to fit a bridge to my bass. I know that with violin bridges you put the new bridge in place, roll a pencil along the body of the violin to draw a line on the bridge then sand it down to the line, so that it fits properly.
    Is the same technigue used on a bass bridge?
    Will sanding work on the (much bigger) bass bridge? If not, what would be a good idea?
    cheers,
    Olie

ps: quick reponses would be very appreciated as I need the bass this afternoon!

2. Just for the record, that's is not a very good method of fitting a violin bridge. Use a knife! On a bass, the sanding method would take many hours of sanding and then you would probably have a bridge that would not fit the contour of the top. There are several methods used to fit a bass bridge, but the most common (used by the pros) is to draw a line as you mentioned, then using a scroll saw or bandsaw with a small blade cut the bottom of the bridge feet to the line. Using chalk or carbon paper, find the high spots and remove them with a knife. The problem with taping a piece of sandpaper to the top and sanding is that it is virtually impossible to keep the bridge at the same angle while you move it back and forth. The small movements of the bridge cause the bottom of the bridge to be rounded and not truely fit the top.

3. Damon Rondeau

Damon Rondeau Journeyman Clam Artist Supporting Member

Nov 19, 2002
    Winnipeg, baby