1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Another Fraudulent Sale On eBay

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by sturmvogel, Mar 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Yes folks, once again the scammers are busy. How do I know this:

EDIT(JT): link removed due to lack of proof.

is a fraud---look at the listed serial number. OK Ric experts---what's wrong?

2. The_Orlonater

The_Orlonater

Jun 6, 2007
    I'm not a Ric expert ,or anything ,but how do you know it's a fake. I believe you ,but I just want to know.

3. If it's a fake, it's a fairly convincing fake.

And the seller is a third party company for the actual seller, which has fairly good feedback.

4. Shovelbone

Shovelbone Supporting Member

Oct 18, 2007
    Yonderville Georgia
    Ummmm.... if I remember correctly... shouldnt there be a letter to indicate the month of the year that it was built?
    I am not a Ricks_pert but I do have a buddy who loves Rics and I believe that is the case. I will check with him and find out! I love it when TB'ers expose these rip-offs!

5. falstro

falstro Good Bassists Don't Forget Anything

Well, according to www.rickenbacker.com/service_serials.asp, when you enter that serial number, this shows up:

"Your guitar was manufactured in week number 25 of the year 2002".

Then, how do you know it's a fake? :confused:

6. Rics have two letters and 4 numbers or a letter and numbers. Since posting, this may not be a fake. In looking at current serial numbers (which I haven't seen newer ones made this decade) they have gone ot all numbers. So maybe this one is OK. But usually $1.00 starters are weird---and third party sellers don't know squat about what they are selling. There have been a number of instances on eBay here recently where accounts have been hijacked and fake Ric auctions posted.