Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Another head thread...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by haujobb, Apr 20, 2005.

1. Kustom Groove Bass 1200

12 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. Yorkville XS800H

12 vote(s)
    50.0%
  1. haujobb

haujobb

Dec 16, 2004
    Wallaceburg
    I've narrowed my amp choices down to two amps now, I have decided against the GK 800RB and the Traynor YBA200. My choices now are:

1) Yorkville XS800H
    2) Kustom Groove Bass 1200

Anyone care to cast their votes between these two and share why?

2. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    Why not the YBA? I would say thats my favorite head you listed.

3. haujobb

haujobb

Dec 16, 2004
    Wallaceburg
    As much as I love that head, I can't get over the power rating, I'm a very power hungry bassist and it makes me nervous to think of only having 200 watts, even if it is tube. I'm sure that if it had a 300 watt rating or more I wouldn't feel that way...

4. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    Don't let the power rating decieve you, the head easily gets as loud as any 800 watt solid state head. You can trust me on that one! Plus it gets up to about 1200 watts I'd say when overdriven.

5. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey

Mar 25, 2000
    Metro NYC
    You might also consider the Carvin B1500.

6. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    I think he is looking for an all in one head, not a power+pre rack...

7. Washishimi

Washishimi Supporting Member

Feb 26, 2005
    New York
    The B1500 is an all in one head. An pretty amazing from what I've heard of it.

8. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    Interesting, just checked the Carvin website. Havn't seen one around... Maybe I should one to try out sometime.

9. haujobb

haujobb

Dec 16, 2004
    Wallaceburg