Another new rig...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by CoolHat, Dec 2, 2003.

1. Hello everybody!

This is my first post here. I am a 30-year old amateur bassist from Finland, been playing for little under 20 years now. I´ve been lurking for a while, doing some searching and found lots of interesting info. Now I feel brave enough to post my first question...;)

As the subject says, money is going to be spent. My old Kickback 12 has been a faithful companion for years, but now is the time to upgrade to something with more headroom and low end.

I´m thinking of getting a >300W head and a 4x10 cab (pref. with an adjustable tweeter). My budget is 1500 euros - adequate if not luxurious. I have been around town testing various heads (Warwick, Ampeg, SWR)and so far the clear winner both volume- and sound-wise has been Mesa Walkabout. However, at 1300 euros it would leave me with just few hundred for the cab.

OTOH, I have always liked my friend´s Hartke 3500 head. It might not sound quite as good as Mesa, but it´s loud enough and can be had for 500 euros... you do the math.

So basically my question is: should I invest in a very good head and a decent cab or vice versa? Or should I just get "pretty good" stuff (like Warwick) and go 50/50? And generally speaking, what are peoples views about this amp/cab-relation, which one do you feel is more critical?

And yes I know, ideally I should save more money and get a very good head and a very good cab. But ours is not an ideal world, and I´ve got too serious G.A.S. so please bear with me...
  2. BillyB_from_LZ

BillyB_from_LZ Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2000
    Welcome aboard!!!!

Do you like the sound of your friend's Hartke through his cabinet or something else?