Another newbie needing help

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by woodstock989, Sep 15, 2004.

1. woodstock989

Aug 19, 2004
    Hi there-
    Looking for opinions on a starter bass.....I'm looking at buying one of the following packages:

1-Squier Bass Pak with Rumble 15 Amp:
    Affinity P-Bass
    Rumble 15 combo amp
    gig bag

2-Squier Bass Pak with Frontman 15B:
    Affinity P-Bass
    FrontmanĀ® 15B combo
    gig bag

(Only diff between 1 & 2 is the amp ?)

3-IJSB190 Bass & Amp Jumpstart Pack:
    GSR190 bass guitar
    IBZ10B Ibanez bass amp
    Gig bag
    Accessory pouch

I'd be grateful for any opinions of the above.

I have no experience playing bass (or anything else for that matter), can't even read music (yet), and I'm looking for a decent, moderately priced starter setup. I'll take all the help I can get. :help:
    Thanks. :)

2. Anti_Wish

May 14, 2004
    Boston, Ma
    take the ibanez package. i started with a squire P package 7 years ago and very unpleased with the big neck mine had on it. but it's all up to you. you may like the squire or you may like the ibanez. plus others. don't let price fool you. those rogue basses are quite nice for less than half of the squires.
  3. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Just be aware that those amps are only loud enough for playing in the bedroom, and they have very poor tone.

I would get an SX P or Jazz bass( and a used Peavey Microbass. Better bass than the Squier(the Ibanez is decent), and a much better amp.
  4. I started about 5 months ago, and instead of buying a package, I just shopped around a bit.

Considering I live in Australia, things are a bit more expensive here than in the US, but I ended up with a Yamaha RBX170 and a reasonably decent 20W practise amp for just over $400AU.
    There were the cost of leads, straps etc on top of that, but I was quite happy with what I ended up with.
  5. Blademaster Dez

Blademaster Dez

May 12, 2004