Another newbie post...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by mofungo, Apr 26, 2002.

1. mofungo

Apr 24, 2002
    Chicago Suburbs
    First, my apologies if this is in the wrong forum. I was hoping to find a "Newbies" area. This seemed like a good place to put my question(s), so...

I've been playing guitar for a few years and like to record music to my hard drive. I'm now ready to venture into the world of bass. At this point, I just want to be able to put together simple basslines for my songs.

I'm going out today to look for an inexpensive bass (<$400). Do most of you recommend a P-Bass? I'm planning to visit MusicGoRound (all they sell is used instruments). I figure that if I purchase a used instrument, I'll be able to get a little bit more bang for my buck.

I just realized that I've really only asked one question. What I'm looking for is some insight when I go out shopping later today. I'd like some recommendations for an under $400 bass (closer to zero the better). My main musical interests are rock, country, funk & punk.

2. I think it's a good idea to go used, you will get more bang for the buck. I think most people would agree that a P Bass is great for rock, probably punk, but I can't help on Country and Funk. You could look for a deluxe P, which also has a J pickup, and that might give you more versitility.

3. CS

Dec 11, 1999
    Look at the made in Mexico and Made in USA Fenders (dont know $ prices as I'm a Brit).

Also try a Jazz as the neck is slimmer and they have two pickups.

Happy hunting
  4. mofungo

Apr 24, 2002
    Chicago Suburbs
    What scale would be easiest for me to learn to play? 30"? 34"? I'm guessing short scale since I'm a guitar player. Any advantages/disadvantages to either?
  5. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member