another question on rosin (sorry)

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by rake, Jan 27, 2005.

1. rake

May 4, 2004
    I've been reading through a lot of the rosin threads and have seen people talk about hard and soft rosins. I use pops right now, but i'm getting my bow rehaired next week and was wondering what everyones opinion is on hard/soft rosins. I was thinking about switching to Carlssons, but I'm still a newb and don't know what would be best.

thanks a bunch. peace,
  2. random bassist

random bassist

Jan 21, 2005
    Hey i know how yo feel. I'm not a newb but i have always played on pops. And i like it alot. good stuff but it can be just a little harsh. So i feel a little dumb asking people what rosins are the best. :eyebrow: My only advice is not to buy Shermans. the stuff is like using a brick. I dont like the stuff. But then again thats just my opinion.
  3. mazaremba

Apr 15, 2004
    I bought Shermans and thought it was ok for the very small amount of time I needed to use it. (At least it was better than Kolstein!) I currently use pops.

Sometimes people say not to mix rosins, but my professor told me she has been doing it for a while now and doesn't see any bad results. You'll prob. just have to try Carlssons and see if you like it better than Pops....remeber despite what everyone else says the point is to find out what you like best.
  4. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    If you are really used to Pops, it'll take a little bit of adjustment to switch to Carlssons. It just doesn't have the bite on the string that Pops has. Then again, nothing does.

The payback is the smoothness of the bowing compared to Pops. I think you'll notice a significant difference in the overall tone if you switch.