Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

another question regarding interest in "going pro"

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by TooFunkToDrunk, Jan 17, 2002.

1. ...actually it's two questions. First of all, how many gigs/recording sessions does one need to play in order to support oneself? Second, how much would I charge? My music experience consists of only one pro recording session and about five or so bands that never got past the first gig (if there). This is excluding school-related music programs/ensembles cause that's a different environment (you've got a teacher there!) I've been playing for almost 5 years now and got somewhat of a good groove....(sometimes it may take me a couple run-throughs of a tune to get it) as always, any help is appreciated. Oh yeah, once again keep in mind i'm canadian so money's worth a bit less here than in the states....

2. I hate to be the one to burst your bubble, dude, but you're thinking this through in the wrong sequence. Most bassists that are full pro, got there as a natural progression. It probably went like this.