(Another) Recommend Me a Five String Thread

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by verycoolname, Jul 29, 2013.

1. verycoolname

verycoolname

Jan 28, 2013
    Pittsburgh
    [SUB]Disclaimer: this is NOT a "best bass for metal" thread. ;)[/SUB]

I know, I know, we all hate these threads, but I'm in need of advice from the TB community.

I'm looking for a five string bass, after playing exclusively four string basses for my seven year bass "career." I've decided at the ripe old age of seventeen that it's time to buy a five string bass. Why you ask? Well...
    • I figure if I want to progress as a bassist I'll have to learn to play a five string (since it's used in a lot of music)
    • I've always been intrigued by a five string bass
    • I'm starting to write my own lines that could use a B string/lower tunings
    And, the most pressing issue...
    • A friend of mine wants me to play bass in his metal band

He thinks it's "kinda cool" to have a "chick bassist" in a metal band, plus he knows I'm pretty good and his metal band is in need of a bass player...

...that being said, metal is not my choice genre. I mostly play punk and some indie/alt rock stuff, as well as bluegrass, and gospel music for my church. So, I'm looking for something that'll be useful in those applications as well (if the metal band fails I don't want to be without a use for the 5er).

The criteria...
    • I'm open to new and used basses
    • Prefer active electronics (or passive pups with active EQ)
    • Less than about $500-$600 (I'm willing to save more though)
    • I'd prefer a 34 inch scale
    • I don't like chunky necks, so the thinner/more comfortable the better

I've been looking at Ibanez Soundgear 5ers (I already have an Ibanez 4 string, and I dig the neck), but I'm open to other brands as well.

2. MIM Fender Jazz 5. I play everything ever on it.

3. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    Used Carvin LB75