Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

another setup

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by soundoholic, Jun 29, 2004.

1. Here is the plan-

Wireless->Rack Tuner->Sansamp RBI, in the sansamp effects loop(sansamp Bass DI, Boss Bas Overdrive, Boss Bass Chorus, Boss Bass Synthesizer, to a presonus rackmount bluemax compressor). The sansamp would then go to my poweramp and act as a DI.

I have never used an effects loop before and am wondering if in this chain would the RBI be feeding the effects or would the effects be feeding the RBI?? Also, is this a good idea? Is this setup going to hinder the compressor, because I alway thought the comp should be at the end of the chain or is it in this situation....?... I am confused...

2. dirtgroove

dirtgroove

Jan 10, 2003
    Taipei, Taiwan
    Argh! Beware he boss bass synth!

3. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    Put the synth first in the loop. I'd also run the compressor before the RBI.

Conventional wisdom puts compressors before distortion devices or tracking devices like octavers and synths. Rationale is that these devices are sensitive to dynamics - you want to keep signal strength within the "sweet spot" of these boxes and a compressor helps keep it there.

4. Thanks for the help. I think I'm getting an idea of where to start.

5. Tecx

Tecx Radio Rock Leads To Sterility

Jun 9, 2002
    Halifax, NS, Canada
    The RBI's effects loop is WAAAAAY to hot for ground effects, it is made for line level stuff only... Beleave me i know... Just e-mail Tech21 and find out...

BUT - put the compressor in the effects loop, thats what they sugest... And so do I...

Alex

6. I'm sorry I didn't mention this before but I really never use my Boss Bass synth. It's really not an issue right now.