Another "show me the way to the dark side" thread

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Velkov, Mar 6, 2003.

1. Velkov

Jan 17, 2001
    Lansdowne, Ontario
    I've been reading a lot of these threads lately and I still have some questions/concerns that are unanswered.

Some background on me: I started playing the guitar 10 years ago. A couple of years ago I got really bored of that and got a fender fretless jazz bass. I love playing the bass and I am getting better at playing the kind of music I want to play (jazz) but I am realizing more and more that I play my bass as if it was an upright. Subconsiously every note I play was meant to be played on an upright. I think ... Sometimes I even put my bass up on a chair and hold it like an upright and it feels better that way. Of course the action is soooo low that there is no way to get a good sound but anyway...

Financially I am getting to the point now where I can almost justify getting into the double bass. I am not going to go and buy a bass tomorrow. It's just something that I want to start doing research on and hopefully start playing sometime in the next few months.

In one of the other threads somebody said "Play a lot of basses and see what sounds right" Well, I have played 3 or 4 basses at stores and they all sound like crap. Because it's me playing them.
    So, how do I buy a bass if I can't make any bass sound good. Yet.

A lot of people suggest getting a teacher. How do I establish a relationship with a teacher if I don't have a bass to start that relationship with.

Should I start renting, get a teacher, and start hanging out at luthier shops until something comes up. How playable would a rented bass be. I'm in Toronto, so Long and McQuade is one place where I can rent from. They are a well known chain of stores and have had rental programs for years. So, I imagine their basses would be ok.