Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Another speakerbuilding question...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jock, Apr 6, 2003.

1. jock

jock

Jun 7, 2000
    Stockholm, Sweden
    I think it would be fun to build a basscab this summer. A 2x10" no tweeter cab (I already have a 2x12" with tweeter and just want some more punch). I´d like to use the Eminence Kappa pro 10 or the Legend B102.
    When I put in the values for the kappa here I got an optimum volume of 10.3 liters. Not that likely I guess.:D
    Im not that good at calculating (as you can see)but I know how to use the tools and how to build a cab.
    So could someone please help me calculate a good volume and porting dimensions for two of these speakers? :meh: ;)

2. jock

jock

Jun 7, 2000
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Also, which of the two drivers mentioned do you think is most suitable fo my needs?
    I want detailed flat sound with good punch and want to be able to use the cab on its one sometimes. I never use the tweeter in my 2x12 so the highs are not that important.

Here are the links to the speakers too:
    Kappa pro 10
    Legend B102

3. ESP-LTD

ESP-LTD

Sep 9, 2001
    Idaho
    Bgavin has a very nice spreadsheet at: http://www.ofgb.org/

-that has plenty of tuning information on lots of speakers.

4. jock

jock

Jun 7, 2000
    Stockholm, Sweden
    That´s a lot of info in that sheet.:eek:

But when I put in the numbers in the calculating program it gives me an optimum volume. This volume is however too small to be practical. The cab would be like 3" deep.:rolleyes:

Can the volume be doubled? What happens in that case?:confused:
    I found that if I put in a volume of about 40 litres and kept the other values I got a nice (similar to the optimum volume) looking graph. But I guess that´s not the way to do it.:meh: