1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Another stuck truss rod question

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Wyatt, Feb 22, 2008.

1. I have a 94 Squire jazz. While having it set-up, I was told that the truss rod was stuck. Tech told me that it wouldn't turn either way and therefore he didn't adjust it. Wasn't bad out anyway. What could possibly cause it to freeze up, so to speak? How can I safely check it without damaging anything else. The tech told me it would not be a problem, but I can't settle with that. Any tips would be helpful. I can rebuild a 350chevy, but I'm still learning to work on basses so details will help.

Thank You

2. BillyRay

BillyRay Supporting Member

Jan 20, 2008
    Quebec
    Truss rod can seize up because they have been manhandled in the past: the nut is way too tight and it won't loosen up not unlike if you take a vize grip to tighten a water faucet. Good luck using it afterwards unless you use a vice grip to loosen it.

Or it can seize up because of the pressure inside the route or because it is faulty, crappy, broken. Are you the original owner ?

PS: When the tech says that it's stuck and that it isn't a problem, either:
    a) He sees that it's a Squier and knows that fishing out the truss rod out of there and replacing would be more costly than buying a new one. Even buyign a replacement neck, unless you have setimental attachement or mods done to the bass would make no sense.
    b) He is talking from his rear end. The truss rod is there for a reason.

3. 202dy

202dy Supporting Member

Sep 26, 2006
    1. Cross threaded adjustment nut.
    2. Glue on threads.

Since you are an experienced mechanic, you understand that unless it is a double action truss rod (Fender calls it Biflex) a lot of tension against the nut when backing the nut off doesn't make a lot of sense.