1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Anti-Stingray Prejudice?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Misterwogan, Oct 20, 2013.

1. I started playing exactly one year ago and I reckon I'm now competent enough to try playing in public, whether in a pub as part of a blues trio or in a jam session. I'll be playing Blues almost exclusively.

I have three basses. In order of my preference: Stingray (3 band eq), Jazz Am Std and Precision Am Std. The Ray is my favourite simply because it is for me the most comfortable to play. Maybe it's something to do with the flatter fretboard radius – I dunno, and that I can dial-in almost any tone I need - but the Ray just fits me like a glove and it's this bass that I would like to gig with.

Over the last year I've become aware of the settled view (amongst bass players at least) that for blues you gotta have a P or failing that a J. Rays are solely for Funk, Slap and maybe rock – definitely not for the Blues. Now I know that I can nail the blues tone with my Ray...

What I need to know is: how real is this view out there in gig-land?
    Am I likely to turn up at a gig and be told by the drummer or guitarist that there's no way they're playing with a Stingray?

Any advice based upon real-world experiences would be most appreciated.

2. I don't have a Stingray, nor do I intend to buy one. I'm a short-scale guy. However, a very active bass player has used a 5 string Stingray for years and played blues, folk, rock, jazz and country on it. Maybe other genres, too, for all I know. He always sounded great, if not better. What helps is that he knows how to play, which is more important than what brand of bass you use.

3. PJ Muzikmansky

PJ Muzikmansky

Jan 4, 2013