1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Anxiety

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Bunk McNulty, Apr 12, 2015.

1. Bunk McNulty

Bunk McNulty It is not easy to do simple things correctly. Supporting Member

Dec 11, 2012
    Northampton, MA
    I've been slogging away for 25 years, bar bands, singer/songwriter projects, pickup gigs, the occasional recording session, and now I'm going to audition for a country singer who has a record contract and is putting a band together to tour to support his new album. I know there is nothing to do except go in there and be myself, but if anybody has any words of advice about how to conduct myself during the audition, I'm all ears.

2. Krystal Childs

Krystal Childs Banned

Feb 13, 2015
    I would be well rehearsed on the material. If given a choice be the last to audition so I could see what I am up against. Made sure I had everything I need. Bring your A game and smoke the competition. Be friendly and don't be nervous. Enjoy yourself. Good luck.

StyleOverShow likes this.
  3. 20db pad

20db pad

Feb 11, 2003
    I been everywhere, man...
    None. At all.
    Show up early, make sure your equipment is in perfect working order, know the material cold, avoid diva behavior, look clean and sharp, and present a positive attitude. Hiring entities notice this stuff and most of it is beyond most musicians.

4. 10cc

10cc

Oct 28, 2013
    Ride in on a horse

5. klokker

klokker

Jan 7, 2009
    Steele City, NE
    Be confident and don't talk to much. Just fricken nail it.

6. PauFerro

PauFerro

Jun 8, 2008
    United States
    Be accommodating to the people there -- be easy to work with. I've not hired people who were smokin' players because they gave me the impression they were going to be hard to work with or disagreeable.

blindrabbit likes this.
  7. ahc

ahc

Jul 31, 2009
    No. Virginia