Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Any advice for a drummer wanting to learn bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by redsoxfan_1978, Aug 27, 2004.

1. redsoxfan_1978

redsoxfan_1978

Aug 26, 2004
    Well Im a drummer first and foremost. I listen to a lot of older stuff though mostly Motown. Those basslines get to me. So smooth, grooving but not overpowering etc. The compliment rather than take over. Its just good stuff :)
    Anyway here is my problem. I have been out of drumming for about a year. Right now I have no room for a kit. Practice even with one would be hard. The cops live right next door :D Beyond that my wife suffers from migraines. With a drumkit she might be bedridden LOL! I have only played bass a couple of times. My brother has Washburn 5 string. I couldnt get it to do anything, which didnt surprise me. He sent me to this forum.

Im think essex Pbass or Jbass and a decent amp. Get some lessons and go from there. I want a Fender PBass, but my brother says they are big money for an American one, and if I dont stick with it then Im out that money. I can always get my money for a Fender I would think. But anyway...

Out of curiousity, how hard are some of these Motown basslines. I notice a lot of their drum parts arent hard BUT they groove. A simple beat played very well is hard to imitate IMO. These guys played with feeling and groove and so some of these beats while not "hard" are near impossible to nail dead on.

Nice forums here and thank in advance for any help.

2. 6-3-2

6-3-2

Sep 20, 2003
    Well little background odds are those mo-town basslines were played by James Jamerson, he is the motown bassist. It varies in difficulty though. "My Girl" isn't so hard, but "What's Goin On" took me some time to get right.
    Also an American P-bass is about $850, that's a reasonable price for a bass, I think.

3. JPJ

JPJ