Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

any advice on working with Burl woods?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by KAOSBass, Jan 12, 2006.

1. KAOSBass

KAOSBass

Mar 10, 2005
    Amarillo Texas
    This is my first try at working with a Burl top. Any advice on setting it up? Planing, etc...?? It's 1-1/8 thick, going on ash....

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. klocwerk

klocwerk

May 19, 2005
    Somerville, MA
    You gonna split and bookmatch it, or is it going to be a 1 piece? Can't tell from the photo if it's big enough.

3. most burl woods are end grain on the figure side, so keep your tools real sharp and go slow.

4. Suburban

Suburban

Jan 15, 2001
    lower mid Sweden
    Beware of planing! Both mackine and by hand. The tear-outs are nasty to fix.
    For some reason, routing seems to be OK, though. Probably due to spinning speed.

5. tjclem

tjclem Supporting Member Commercial User

Jun 6, 2004
    Central Florida
    Owner and builder Clementbass
    I would think planing would be a non-no as well. Use a thickness sader. It will take a lot longer but it will be safer......t

6. KAOSBass

KAOSBass

Mar 10, 2005
    Amarillo Texas
    yea I'm gonna have to cut it and bookmatch it to avoid the bark. I thought so about the "thickness sanding" now to find someone in Amarillo who does that......huh....

Thanks for the advice so far.

The thickness is 1-1/8" How thin should I go? would it cause problems to go with the 1-1/8" and like a 3/4" Ash? Would arch top be possible?

thanks for advance.....

7. Gard

Gard Commercial User

Mar 31, 2000
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    General Manager, Roscoe Guitars
    Well, if it is a big enough piece to do as a one-piece, instead of avoiding the "problem" of the bark inclusions, you COULD "go with" them...