Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Any bassplayers here play guitar too?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by reggaeman, Mar 2, 2006.

1. reggaeman

reggaeman

Jul 12, 2005
    SoCal
    I've been playing bass for 7 years now... I am tired of not being able to find other musicians who play what I want to hear. So my goal is to become a one man band!

Anyways I just bought a MIA Fender Strat and I am wondering if any other bass players made this transition to guitar. Are there any pointers, tips and tricks you can give me?

I am finding it difficult to play a smaller neck and smaller strings with smaller spacing between them. The thing thats REALLY driving me nuts is chords. I know its gonna take some time before I can play well... but I think it will be very rewarding in the end :)
    Btw- I have my first guitar lesson tomorrow :)

2. fookgub

fookgub

Jun 5, 2005
    Houston, TX
    I think you'll find lots of us play both. I actually started on guitar, so I can't tell you much about what the transition is like. Going from guitar to bass was pretty easy for me... after all, it's just a big guitar with less strings, right? :ninja:

3. P. Aaron

P. Aaron Supporting Member

When I joined here, I played bass in a cover band. I switched to guitar a few years later.

I found that the years I did play bass to be some of the most enjoyable and satisfying gigs I had. If the gig was right, I would do it again.

Most 'out of the chute' guitar players have NO IDEA how important solid and good musical bass playing is to the quality of the music. Most guitar players never really listen to it all.

4. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'

I used to play guitar for a couple of years within my bass playing period, but bass is my home. Guitar was just for fun.

5. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD

Feb 20, 2005
    Seweracuse, NY