Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Any brewers in the house?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by baba, Sep 19, 2002.

1. baba

baba Supporting Member

Jan 22, 2002
    3rd stone from the sun
    After music I think beer must be my greatest love. (Don't tell my wife) I've been brewing my own for many years now and wondered if anyone else out there enjoys the fine craft of homebrewing or commercial brewing. If so, what's your setup? What do you brew?

2. I'm not a brewer (Yet), but I've been talking to a friend of mine about trying it out. How long does it take for a fairly normal type of beer?

3. I haven't for a year or so, but for several years I brewed often - mostly ales. My favorite was a Scottish Ale recipe I had. Most of my batches turned out very good.

I used carboys. I can't remember all the equipment. I used some grains. I also converted a chest freezer into a fridge and used it for kegs. IMO, kegging is the only way to go. I would have two types of beer available at any time.

It's amazing how much I've forgotten!

It is a fun hobby.

4. I brewed for a while after I got out of college. There was a homebrew supply store right by my work, so I would stop by and pick up stuff on the way home and make some beer. Since I moved to Germany, I just drink the commercial beer. Its really good and very inexpensive. Around $8 for 20 half liter bottles.
    However, I have 2 6 gallon plastic buckets, 2 6 gallon glass carbouys, 2 3 gallon glass carbouys, and 2 5 gallon kegs. I used to have a refrigerator with taps on the door, but got rid of it when I moved.