1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Any carpentry/technology/shop teachers here?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Ray Holt, Mar 30, 2006.

1. I'm a freshman in college, and I've been killing myself lately trying to figure out what I should do. I'm a music major right now, and I'm definitely got natural talent for it, and I find music theory interesting... but not something I WANT to do everyday, ya know?

The only thing I really WANT to do right now is build my guitar... I can't tell you how much I've thought of just going to the Roberto-Venn school of luthiery... but I was thinking of alternatives, and the idea of being a shop/carpentry teacher came up.

I'm not sure that my school (University at Buffalo, NY) has a program in it... but here's my real question:

Any of you who might be shop/carpentry teachers (any level, middle school, highschool, college), how exactly did you get to be where you are today? I'm sure many people do it without getting a degree exactly in technology education.

Any responses are greatly appreciated!!!

2. Tsal

Tsal

Jan 28, 2000
    Finland, EU
    There's a technology education line in the university, around here. I think all of the elementary/middle school shop teachers come that way.

However, it kinda depends what kind of stuff you want to teach - most college teachers are graduates from that same school and taken some credits in Education or Masters in their own field. This way you could end up teaching in a artisan school for fine woodworking and design.

Also, many industrial / product design lines in colleges have extensive woodwork shops for making models and prototypes.