1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Any expatriates on TB?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Visirale, Sep 17, 2008.

1. Visirale

Visirale

Mar 23, 2003
    Orlando
    I'm currently majoring in International Business and Economics. That being said, I'd love to GTFO of America for a while sometime after I start working (plan on working for a few years locally, then going to get my MBA) for real. I know I'll return here to raise my kids as I have way too many family ties and emotions tied in here... but who knows how my decisions could change as our volatile economy continues on its current path.

I've traveled quite a bit and have enjoyed everywhere I've been. Does the allure of a foreign place/culture fade once you're living your daily life there?

Any advice would be appreciated!

2. Marlat

Marlat

Sep 17, 2002
    London UK
    Born in NZ, lived in Aus now live in the UK. The allure of the foreign place fades, but it doesn't mean its not way cooler than the place you came from anyway! :D

3. Relic

Relic Cow are you?

Sep 12, 2006
    Robbinsville, NJ
    I lived in Poland for a while, even France for a short time.
    The allure fades, yes. It gets replaced by this sort of familiarity but that's not to paint it in a negative way, it just gets to be part of your routine.
    I utterly loved my time there, but I still like good ol' USA best :)

4. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    My fiance was an expat for several years, based out of Spain and Italy but working throughout the Mediterranean. She is considering a good-paying gig in Hong Kong right now, which would mean a total uproot for me and the dog etc., but I'm kind of looking forward to it if it happens. It would be a two-year commitment if she takes it.

5. MakiSupaStar