1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Any graphic designers out there?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by duo8675309, Oct 22, 2010.

1. duo8675309

duo8675309

Jun 5, 2005
    I'm a sophomore in college majoring in graphic design. I suppose every college student goes through second thoughts, and now it's my turn. So tell me, how do you like it? Are you a free lance designer or do you work for a company? How's the pay?

2. peledog

peledog

Jul 9, 2010
    San Diego, CA
    If you're good, it depends on where you live.

Pay ranges from 30k to 80k a year - depending on experience and location.

I'm right in the middle, and have 10 years in the industry.

3. Simo98

Simo98

Jun 18, 2009
    QLD, Australia
    I do a bit of it, mainly for small business just contracting, nothing serious, im actually studying engineering at the moment, but am considering looking at deferring a year or two and working in graphic design a bit more.

I'd love to hear from some guys in the industry too. Also, what is doing a degree in graphic design like? Its never something I really considered studying.

4. Mr wiggl3s

Mr wiggl3s Banned

Feb 27, 2009
    Bismarck
    You and every other kid in america.

5. My daughter graduated from RISD in Illustration 3 years ago.

She's making about 30K at Whole Foods marketing dept. ROI sucks!

6. DudeistMonk

DudeistMonk

Apr 13, 2008
    Newark, NJ
    I have a degree in Comm Arts with a concentration in design.

Let me tell you right now that print is dieing, so study web (RGB for life!, you CMYKers can suck it! :D )...if you can design your way out of a paper bag and code HTML/CSS decently well, you'll always have work as a designer, a developer or both. Check out CSS Zen Garden and start reading http://alistapart.com