1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

ANY NEW RICK MODELS COMING OUT?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Presto2112, Jan 22, 2012.

1. anyone know if rickenbacker is releasing any new models? Or reissues? I started playing bass after the 4004's and 5 strings were discontinued:meh:

2. Ric5

Ric5 Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 29, 2008
    Colorado
    I convert 4 string Rickenbackers to 5 string basses.
    The 4004 is not discontinued.

If you are waiting for Rickenbacker to make a 5 string bass then be prepared to wait many years ... and even then it may not happen.

Rickenbackers idea of innovation is to introduce a new color.

3. experimental bassist

experimental bassist

Mar 15, 2009
    Truth. :meh:

4. jgroh

jgroh Supporting Member

Sep 14, 2007
    Pennsylvania
    Yes they are. They are just finishing up the redesigned bridges first.

5. sj_bass

sj_bass Supporting Member

May 23, 2010
    Long Beach, CA
    Moody Leathers endorsed artist
    :meh:
    Umm, no.

Worse yet; I checked *every* 4003 they had on display at NAMM and all of them had tail lift.:rollno:

6. Ric5

Ric5 Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 29, 2008
    Colorado
    I convert 4 string Rickenbackers to 5 string basses.
    Yes they are what?

John Hall redesigned a 4003 bridge years ago (according to him) but it never got released ... Rickenbackers have had tailpiece pullup for over 40 years and they still haven't released a new one to replace the old one.

The last time Rickenbacker came out with a new model was the ill fated 4004cii5. A 5 string bass with a neck that was too wide and pickups that were too narrow.

Rickenbacker makes their money from being retro and not from being innovative.