Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Any old farts make the 4 to 5 string switch?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by phillm47, Dec 18, 2004.

1. I've been playing bass since 1975. I'm now in my 40's. I have always played 4 strings - period. It always seemed I could cover anything I really needed to on a four string. The five strings I have tried, the string spacing always seemed to cramped. My motto was "if Geddy, Jamerson, Stanley....etc used fours then..." or "when I've MASTERED a four string then..."

Anyway, I played a five string last night and had a little fun with it. Still strange..but it has me wondering.

Have any of you 'died in the wool ~ old fart' four string players made the switch to fives later in life? Where you glad you did? Whay advantages did you gain? Glad you made the switch? Only helps sometimes? Did you switch only to switch back to fours?

I would appreciate hearing your experiences.

This could be renamed "I'm having GAS for a Roscoe Beck V but am afraid to make a switch"

Thanks

2. Bassstud1

Bassstud1 Supporting Member

Sep 23, 2001
    LaPorte Indiana USA
    I made the switch @ 42. My main problem was string spacing until I bought 5 with wider string spacing. I wouldn't leave my 4 @ home all the time @ first, but eventially you can. Good Luck.

3. cheezewiz

cheezewiz

Mar 27, 2002
    Ohio
    I made the switch at about 37. It was a fairly easy process, but more and more, I find myself going back to fours. It just feels right.

4. I'd been a 4-stringer since the early 70's but added a 5
    string fretless to my arsenal about 5 years ago (at age 42).
    I had so much fun with the 5 string that I later (about 2 years later)
    added a 6 string to my collection. I still have a couple of 4-string basses lying around and I do use them often.

5. Steelpulz

Steelpulz

Nov 4, 2003
    Inglewood, CA