Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Any other bass tremolo users here?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by erich, Mar 4, 2003.

1. erich

erich

Mar 3, 2003
    Birch Bay, WA
    Endorsing Artist: Kahler Bass Tremolos
    Hello all,
    I'm new to Talk Bass, and I was curious to know how many others use bass whammy/tremolo systems on their bass? I've been using Kahlers for over 18 years now, and I just got a Vibrotek Double Whammy that I have been experimenting with. Also, I plan to get a new Hipshot bass trem unit within the next couple of months. I'm also searching for an old Steinberger bass Trans Trem system.

My main axe is a black Tokai Jazz with stereo DiMarzio Model J pickups and my Kahler trem. I have the trem set for maximum divebomb (I can drop my E string a whole octave down), and I can also do wild fluttering-and it stays in tune. :bassist:

2. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange Commercial User

Dec 25, 2002
    New Orleans, LA
    Owner / Tech: Strange Guitarworks
    I'm looking at getting one of those double whammy setups. How do you like it?

3. NioeZero

NioeZero

Sep 2, 2001
    I've had a Kahler on my bass for a little over a year now, and I love it. There are a few things I'd change about the Kahler design, but overall, it's a pretty reliable piece of hardware. I've never had tuning problems to speak of, and I use a Hipshot bass Xtender in conjunction with the whammy.

I'm looking into possibly building a custom bass with the Hipshot trem system, but I'd like to hear personal feedback from someone who has played a bass with one before I commit.

How has the Vibrotek been working out for you, Erich?

4. erich

erich

Mar 3, 2003
    Birch Bay, WA
    Hey guys,