Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Any Other Drummers Here??

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by jokerjkny, Feb 6, 2006.

1. jokerjkny

jokerjkny

Jan 19, 2002
    NY / NJ / PA
    hey all,

i've been playing since 2000, and after moving in w/ my current roommate have taken it waaaay more seriously.

any other peeps play? whatcha got? who you freak out when you listen to them?

[​IMG]
    - Gretsch kit w/ Bosphorus and Sabian cymbals

[​IMG]
    - Space Muffins electronic kit w/ DDrum 4SE brain

big vinnieC. fan, and most anything bebop w/ a soft spot for Elvin and Max. these days, big into Nisan Stewart & Marco Minnemann.

2. I play. Not well, but I play. Don't own gear, but the school has some Pearl kits and cymbals. The best kit there is a Pearl Export something; has an awesome tight snare that I love to pieces.

A great drummer I like listening to is Buddy Rich; he could kick it. A friend of mine is a BR nut; listen to the both of them blindfolded and you couldn't tell the difference.

3. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    My son sold off his acoustic set and went electronic. I get on them much more often now. :D

-Mike

4. nad

nad 60 Cycle Humdinger

Sep 22, 2005
    I play, casually. Some Yamaha 5-piece with a few Zildjian cymals.

5. I have a pretty no-name kit that I've gotten to sound really excellent with coated heads, and some sabian cymbals and hohner hats... I know it's not too showy, but it sounds great, and goes to tape well enough for my needs. And my kids like to bang around on it.

Someday, I want to get a nice smaller jazz kit that'll have a small footprint, but will sound tremendous. I love the smaller, tighter punchy kick drums.

I love making on-the fly live drum clips to loop...gets gritty and organic, and is sometimes a nice alt to static drum machine parts.

Mon

6. xush

xush

Jul 4, 2001