Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Any reason not too do this

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Eilif, Jul 26, 2005.

1. Eilif

Eilif Supporting Member

Oct 1, 2001
    Chicago
    I've been wanting to put a neck pickup in my p'bass. I really like the sound of the old fender 70's tele basses with a pickup right at the neck. I have an old peavey super ferrite pickup from a now ruined early model fury that I want to use. I am going wire it like a jazz bass with the P pickup which is a SD quarter pounder.
    Is their any reason not to do this?
    Should I wire it differently?
    Any advice would be appreciated.
    I am not good at reading electrical schematics, but I can follow pictorial wiring diagrams like the ones fender offers. (I used one to wire my homebuilt Jazz.)

2. RobertUI

RobertUI Thumper Supporting Member

Apr 7, 2005
    Herndon, VA - NoVa
    If you get the placement correct for the 70s tele bass, I don't see why you SHOULDN'T do this. I kind of like the idea myself, although I wonder if the position is actually going to interfere with the p-bass pickup (the "neck" position that you're referring to isn't as far up as you may think). I say go for it, but I am a crazy mad scientist type at heart anyway.

:hyper:

HOWEVER, I would recommend NOT using the super ferrite pickup for MANY reasons. That pickup will require a fairly large route, and it also will not give you anything like the sound that you like from the tele. Part of the reason that you like the sound is that it comes from a vintage wound single coil pickup. Keep in mind also, that you'll be destroying ANY resale value that this bass may have (might not be a real concern, but it is a fact). Just some things to consider.

3. Eilif

Eilif Supporting Member

Oct 1, 2001
    Chicago
    Thanks for the suggestions, a question though...