1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Any slide bassist?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Plantbrain, Jun 4, 2007.

1. Plantbrain

Plantbrain Supporting Member

Oct 9, 2006
    Yes, I have a fretless also, but I've been using slide bass for about 2 years and was wondering if I'm the only guy around doing this? I cannot be I think. I use distortion and treat like a slide guitar.

It's pretty fun and gets many comments.

Regards,
    Tom

2. trashjazz

trashjazz

Apr 25, 2007
    Mark Sandman from Morphine used 2 string slide bass with distorzion. I love their music.

3. BellBottomBlues

BellBottomBlues

Feb 21, 2007
    New York
    Endorser:Fender User:Rotosound, LaBella, Ashdown, Lindy Fralin
    I use a slide when I play my warwick and I turn the gain up a lot (I use tube heads)

4. i use slide.....but i also use a drumstick with cement rubber on it...:bassist:

5. asahobby

asahobby Guest

Jun 3, 2007
    I don't know about a slide for bass but if it works for you more power but I have used a violin bow occasionally.Put plenty of resin on the bow and it is close to a cello.Wait.. I just tried the slide thing and with a little practice it can imitate a fretless.O.K.

6. Plantbrain

Plantbrain Supporting Member

Oct 9, 2006
    I typically use distortion with it.
    Add a tad flange chorus and off I go.

I have a fretless also, but this sounds quite different, you can mimic a guitarist pretty good.

I have a bass bow, yep, lots of resin. I played Viola as kid, wish I'd done the Double Bass back then:mad:

I have not messed with the electric bass and the bow yet much.
    Adiana Belew uses one on a guitar for some very strange music.

I'm thinking about going to a piccolo type bass and seeing how it sounds. If you wiggle the glass bar high up near the picks ups, you get sound awesome weird sound effects and it's great for severe harmonics.